A path to Brexit: Britain's last three elections

A path to Brexit: Britain's last three elections

LONDON (AFP) - The general election on Thursday in Britain is the third in less than five years and has been described by Prime Minister Boris Johnson as the most important in a generation.

This comes after nine years of the Conservative government during which the issue of Europe has become increasingly dominated.

2010: Hung Parliament, Coalition

Result: Conservative (306 seats) and Liberal Democrats (57 seats) alliance

Prime Minister: David Cameron

Laban's Gordon Brown took over from Tony Blair as Prime Minister in 2007, shortly before the global financial crisis hit.

The support of the center-left party as a voter was transformed into the Lib Dems, the focal point of Cameron's conservatives and Nick Clegg.

The campaign saw the debate of Britain's first television leaders: three head-to-head between three main party leaders. Clegg's performance for the first time saw the Lib Dems' ratings rise in the brief outbreak of "Clegg-Mania".

Britain's first-past post system means that hung Sanskrit are rare. It was only the second after World War II.

Cameron immediately approached the Lib Dums. Brown stayed in office during coalition talks in hopes of persuading Clegg to join Labor, which lasted five days.

2015: Cameron's surprise win

Result: Conservative majority (330 seats)

Prime Minister: David Cameron

Cameron defied the expectations of another hung parliament and won a slow victory, largely at the expense of his coalition partners.

The Lib Dems gave their worst result since its formation in 1988, with just eight from 49 seats, while the Scottish National Party (SNP) won 56 out of 50 seats on the board in Scotland.

Labor saw an increase in his vote share under Ed Miliband, but the party lost seats.

Eurosceptics UKIP garnered 12.6 per cent of the vote.

The outright conservative victory meant that Cameron could enforce his pledge to hold a referendum on Britain's membership of the European Union.

2017: May gambling backfire

Result: Conservative minority (317 seats)

Prime Minister: Theresa May

He took over from Cameron after the May 2016 European Union referendum, which saw 52 percent of the vote in favor of leaving the EU.

Fear of a small majority may not be enough to achieve Brexit, and a huge pole is trying to capitalize on the lead, he said, snap election.

However, the campaign backfired as a wooden display on the trail, as well as the enthusiastic rallies of Labor leader Jeremy Corbyn, saw him lose his majority.

She was forced to rely on a slim majority for the support of Democratic Unions of Northern Ireland (DUP).

Voters won 42 percent and Labor won 40 percent as voters returned to the main parties.

May's authority was never withdrawn after he stepped down in July 2019 and was taken over by Boris Johnson.

Post a Comment